Social Service Law Article 6 (411-428)
Certain professionals are required by law to report suspected child abuse or maltreatment to the New York State Central Register (SCR) of Child Abuse and Maltreatment. The law also assigns civil and criminal liability to those professionals who do not comply with their mandated reporter responsibilities.
Coaches are required to complete a 2-hour web-based online training course which can be accessed at any time, 24/7. Users have 30 days to complete the course. Progress is saved at the end of each section, so you can complete it at your own pace. Interactive exercises are customized for the major disciplines: Social Services, Education, Law Enforcement, Child Day Care, and Medical are included. Users also learn definitions, indicators, and how to make a report to the New York Statewide Central Register. The course is user friendly, fully narrated, and includes taped video segments that enhance learning points. This course meets the New York State Education Department mandatory requirements for Training in Child Abuse Identification and Reporting.
At the end of the course, the participant will be emailed a certificate of completion. Please email this to Cody Delles, AD. This information must also be entered in the TEACH account.
Click on the below link to access the free Self-Directed Online Training in order to fulfill this requirement for a coaching license.